starcourses.blogg.se

Setup to ptr for wow on mac
Setup to ptr for wow on mac










setup to ptr for wow on mac setup to ptr for wow on mac
  1. #Setup to ptr for wow on mac drivers#
  2. #Setup to ptr for wow on mac Patch#

Guilds will be able to require it, I'm sure, but for makeshift groups and PUGs, I don't see this voice chat happening universally.Īnd if anyone causes a problem, muting them is as easy as opening the Social window, and right clicking their name. And that, I think, will be enough to keep this from becoming a universal thing- people in PUGs, whether they actually can't voice chat or whether they just choose not to, will still have an excuse for not having it set up. So while it's easy to use if you get it working, getting it working is still not a super easy thing to do.

#Setup to ptr for wow on mac Patch#

So Blizzard still has a few problems getting certain mics to work- I'd imagine that will continue on the PTR, and might even continue once the patch goes live, since there are just so many different mics out there. There were a few issues- I had no problem talking with someone who already had their mic setup, but Triunemoon here (who is actually WoW Insider's Ryan Carter) couldn't get his mic working, even though it did work over Ventrilo. All in all, it works very smoothly (talking came through quick with my green connection), and sound quality is about the same as Teamspeak. When you talk, a larger icon appears by your portrait- you can see it near my gnome's portrait above. Once you get in one of those, voice chat is automatically enabled, and you can see that an icon appears by each group members' portrait. You can also check the box to have the game play a sound when you hit the Push-to-Talk button, and you can bind that to whatever button you want- the default is the ` button, and that worked well for me.Īt this time, there is no General chatting, so either you have to be in a raid, group, or a custom channel. Personally I prefer Push-to-Talk, and I was glad to see that was the default option- nothing bugs me more than hearing things I don't want to over voice chat. Unfortunately, that tooltip covers up the two other meters down there, but those are Sounds and Music meters, so you can separately adjust those options as well, if you like.įinally, you can see that the voice chat can be set as either Push-to-Talk or Voice Activated (ie, anytime you start talking, it will send your voice out). On the other side, you can set the speaker volume, as well as lower the audio level when someone else is speaking (since I was using a headset, I set it to stay the same, but if you're hearing voices through the same speakers, you have the option to change it). You can adjust the microphone level, and record and playback yourself speaking to make sure it's working OK. To set it up, you go into the newly retitled "Sound & Voice" menu from the options screen, where you're presented with two panes- the old Sounds pane, and the new Voice pane.įrom here you can do all kinds of things- just check Enable Voice Chat at the top, and then you can choose your input and output sources (I ran both through my headset, as I like to hear the voices separate from the game sounds).

#Setup to ptr for wow on mac drivers#

The feature itself is easily set up, as long as you've got a microphone and drivers hooked up to your PC already (I only tested the chat on my Windows XP box, but Mac should work pretty much the same way). The rest of my impressions, including a complete walkthrough on how the chat system works, are after the jump. But for guilds who don't want to pay for a separate server and friends who group together often, the ingame voice chat should work just fine. Unfortunately, it's complicated enough that it probably won't be extremely widespread- players who haven't found the need to join up on voice chat yet probably still won't feel a need to do so.

setup to ptr for wow on mac

What I found was a pretty intuitive voice chat system that does most everything Blizzard promised to do, and will likely replace Teamspeak or Ventrilo for a lot of smaller guilds. Voice chat is now available on the 2.2 PTR, so I downloaded the test realms, rolled up a gnome Warlock, and put on my Logitech headset to try it out.












Setup to ptr for wow on mac